100 years of Elgar's Concerto

István Várdai

Rudolfinum, 25 November 2019 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.




Ralph Vaughan Williams: Five Variants of "Dives and Lazarus"
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85
Sergei Prokofiev: Dreams, op. 6
A. N. Skriabin: Le Poème de l'Extase. Op. 54

Marek Šedivý – conductor
István Várdai
– violoncello

István Várdai's return to the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra will be commemorated by the hundredth anniversary of the premiere of Edward Elgar's Cello Concerto. The young Hungarian instrumentalist will perform a concert marked by the horrors of World War I and will do so on the rare Stradivarius instrument that belonged to Jacqueline du Pré, whose rendition of Elgar's Concerto is legendary.

The programme will begin with a lyrical composition on folk motifs by Elgar's fellow countryman Ralph Vaughan Williams. The second half of the concert will belong to Russian music. The Principal Guest Conductor, Marek Šedivý, has chosen the not-well-known Dreams by Sergei Prokofiev and the mystical Poem of Ecstasy by Alexander Nikolayevich Scriabin.

Ticket prices: 900 Kč | 750 Kč | 600 Kč | 400 Kč | 250 Kč | 150 Kč

Come in advance and take a look at Jacqueline du Pré's cello from up close! Rudolfinum | Western Lounge | 1st floor |18:30–19:15