Celebrate with Beethoven

Rudolfinum, 25 September 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

Buy tickets


Toshio Hosokawa: Meditation, to the victims of Tsunami (3.11)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125

Kateřina Kněžíková – soprano
Stefanie Irányi – alto
Ladislav Elgr – tenor
Shenyang – baritone
Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno
Alexander Liebreich - conductor

From immeasurable tragedy to a humanistic message. This could sum up the trajectory of the first concert of the new season of the Radio Prague Symphony Orchestra and its Chief Conductor. It begins with the Meditation of Toshio Hosokawa, which was made as an immediate reaction to the earthquake and destructive tidal wave from the tsunami that resulted, in 2011, in the accident at the nuclear power plant in Fukushima and the death of thousands of people. Hosokawa dedicated the work to these victims of the disaster. Liebreich, who has many long years of artistic cooperation with one of the most important Japanese composers, then premiered Meditation in Tongyeong, South Korea. Then the orchestra will be joined by an international quartet of renowned soloists and the Czech Philharmonic Choir of Brno to perform Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9 with its Ode to Joy. This grand composition, leading to its ecstatic finale in which the composer put Schiller’s verse to music, will be played on the occasion of 250 years from Beethoven’s birth, which the entire world of music will be commemorating in 2020.

Ticket prices: 1 800 Kč | 1 250 Kč | 800 Kč | 400 Kč | 250 Kč | 150 Kč

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.