Gabriela Montero Plays Mozart and Shostakovich

21. únor 2022

Rudolfinum, 21 February 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 in D major "Classical", Op. 25
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 14 in E-flat major K 449
Dmitri Shostakovich: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in C minor, Op. 35
Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 4 in C major, Op. 47

Marek Šedivý – conductor
Gabriela Montero – piano
Jiří Houdek – trumpet

This season's artist-in-residence, the phenomenal Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero, will make two performances at her second concert with the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra. In the first half she will perform Mozart's melodic Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 14, and in the second half of the evening she will line up alongside the orchestra's solo trumpet player Jiří Houdek to perform the Piano Concerto No. 1 with its obligatory trumpet by Dmitri Shostakovich, a work full of the humour and scathing sarcasm so typical of the work of this Soviet author. This programme, under the steady hand of Principal Guest Conductor Marek Šedivý, is framed by the music of another Russian classic, Sergei Prokofiev. It will commence with his popular "Classical" symphony, characterised by wit and youthful ebullience, and conclude with the original version of his Symphony No. 4.

Ticket prices: 900 CZK | 750 CZK | 600 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

Pre-concert talk
Rudolfinum | Talich's Lounge | 1st floor | 6:30 – 7:15 p.m.

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio