Gala Inaugural Concert

Sergej Chačatrjan

Rudolfinum, 27 September 2019 at 7:30 p.m.



Witold Lutoslawski: Overture for Strings
Dmitri Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88

Sergey Khachatryan – violin
Alexander Liebreich – conductor

The first performance by the season's soloist-in-residence, Armenian violinist Sergey Khachatryan, will include the dramatic and dark Violin Concerto No. 1 by Dmitri Shostakovich. He wrote this work in the post-war years for the legendary David Oistrach, who also contributed to the solo part.

The programme will begin with the Overture for Strings that the Polish composer Witold Lutoslawski wrote for what was then known as the Czechoslovak Radio Symphony Orchestra and dedicated it to Mirko Očadlík, a musicologist, a music populariser and a long-term employee of the Czechoslovak Radio, as well as its Programme Director for some time.

The second half of the concert will feature Dvořák's bright Symphony No. 8 conducted by the PRSO's Chief Conductor Alexander Liebreich – an extraordinary experience indeed.

Ticket prices: 1 800 Kč | 1 250 Kč | 800 Kč | 400 Kč | 250 Kč | 150 Kč