Symfonický orchestr Českého rozhlasu

The Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra is one of the most eminent Czech orchestra’s today. Its Chief Conductor since 2011 has been Ondrej Lenárd, who has built on the more than quarter-century era of Vladimír Válek. At present its principal Guest Conductor is Tomáš Brauner. From the 2018–2019 season the role of Chief Conductor and artistic director will be taken by the leading German conductor Alexander Liebreich. Marek Šedivý will occupy the post of Principal Guest Conductor.

In recent years the orchestra has worked with top Czech and foreign conductors, such as Petr Altrichter, Jiří Bělohlávek, Tomáš Hanus, Jakub Hrůša, Tomáš Netopil, Stephan Asbury, Alexander Liebreich, Ion Marin and Michał Nesterowicz.

The soloists that the PRSO has accompanied include Pierre Amoyal, Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, Gautier Capuçon, Sergey Khachatryan, Christian Lindberg and István Várdai, while it has also worked with such singers as Elīna Garanča, Renée Fleming, Juan Diego Flórez, Dmitri Hvorostovsky and Jonas Kaufmann. Its Czech collaborators include such names as Jan Bartoš, Tomáš Jamník, Ivo Kahánek, Jan Mráček, Adam Plachetka and Lukáš Vondráček. The orchestra regularly commissions and performs pieces by eminent contemporary composers, among them Jan Ryant Dřízal, Jan Klusák and Miroslav Srnka.

The PRSO’s recording work is also noteworthy. Its most recent output includes a Janáček trilogy conducted by Tomáš Netopil on the Supraphon label. Two of those releases were named Editor’s Choice by the prestigious magazine Gramophone. The first complete recordings of Miloslav Kabeláč’s eight symphonies (Supraphon, 2016) ranked as a singular achievement, as did the recording of all of Martinů’s piano concertos (Radioservis, 2016). The orchestra also recorded in a world premiere Dvořák’s Alfred and an album showcasing Vienna State Opera soloist Adam Plachetka.

Symfonický orchestr Československého rozhlasu

The PRSO offers audiences concerts within season-ticket serie at the Rudolfinum’s Dvořák Hall, Forum Karlín and Studio 1 at the building of Czech Radio. The orchestra is a regular guest at international venues throughout Europe and in Japan.

In the 2018–2019 concert season the PRSO will welcome such eminent performers as conductor Petr Altrichter, Radek Baborák, John Axelrod, Arvo Volmer, Wayne Marshall, soprano Simona Šaturová, Melanie Diener, Chen Reiss, oboist Vilém Veverka, violinist Roman Patočka and Alina Pogostkin.