Sergey Khachatryan plays Brahms

18. říjen 2021

Rudolfinum, 18 October 2021 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.

Igor Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms
Johannes Brahms: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Op. 77

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Sergey Khachatryan – violin
Prague Philharmonic Choir
Lukáš Vasilek – choirmaster

Two masterpieces will come together in the second subscriber concert of the radio symphony orchestra. The first half of the evening will feature Chief Conductor Alexander Liebreich's rendition of the Symphony of Psalms by Igor Stravinsky. Spring of 2021 marked 50 years since the death of this Russian composer, who wrote it in 1930 at the commission of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and conductor Serge Koussevitzky. Stravinsky interpreted the publisher's wish that he write "something popular" in his own way and set to music the "ever popular" verses of the Old Testament Psalms. This gave rise to a work both monumental and mystical, in which the voices of the Prague Philharmonic Choir and the artistry of the orchestra members shine out, in particular the wind instrument players.

After the break, the orchestra will be joined by one of the best violinists of the present day, the Armenian musician, a native of Yerevan, Sergey Khachatryan. This winner of the 2005 Queen Elisabeth Music Competition has worked with conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Myung-Whun Chung and Jakub Hrůša, and will perform the Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, which Johannes Brahms composed for his friend Joseph Joachim.

Ticket prices: 900 CZK | 750 CZK | 600 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

Pre-concert talk
Rudolfinum | Talich's Lounge | 1st floor | 6:30 – 7:15 p.m.

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio