Solo for oboe and harp

26. duben 2021

St. Agnes Convent, 26 April 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Bohuslav Martinů: Partita for Strings
Frank Martin: Three Dances for Oboe, Harp and Strings
Igor Stravinsky: Orpheus

Vilém Veverka – oboe
Kateřina Englichová – harp
Marek Šedivý – conductor

The last concert in the Convent of Saint Agnes will be in the style of neoclassicism. It will begin with the musicians on stringed instruments playing the wildly inventive Partita, which Bohuslav Martinů composed in the year 1931 in Paris. In the second number of the evening, two renowned soloists will join the strings, Vilém Veverka on oboe and Kateřina Englichová on harp, to perform Trois danses by the Swiss composer Frank Martin, a work he wrote for the phenomenal Swiss oboist and his wife, the fabulous harpist, Heinz and Ursula Holliger. The harp will have an important role in the work that closes out the evening, for Igor Stravinsky entrusted it with the stylised part of the Lyre of the mythical Orpheus in the ballet of the same name, which he created in cooperation with the world-renowned choreographer George Balanchin in the 1940s in Hollywood.

Ticket prices: 390 Kč | 290 Kč

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

Spustit audio