Solo for viola and piano

St. Agnes Convent, 7 September 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

Buy tickets


Benjamin Britten: Prelude and Fugue for Strings, Op. 29
Zbyněk Matějů: Virus, a concerto for viola and chamber orchestra, a world premiere commissioned by the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra.
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 27
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Piano Concerto in G minor

Jitka Hosprová – viola
Jan Čmejla – piano
Chuhei Iwasaki – conductor

The Convent of St Agnes of Bohemia concert series will be kicked off by 18 string players who will perform Britten’s energetic Prelude and Fugue. Top Czech violinist Jitka Hosprová will headline the world premiere of Virus, a concerto written by Zbyněk Matějů and commissioned by the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra. The inspiration for this Czech composer, best known for his ballet music, was the artistry of Jitka Hosprová and the coronavirus pandemic. The orchestra will grow and play Mendelssohn’s overture Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, which was inspired by Johann Wolfgang Goethe’s poems of the same name. The programme will conclude with Mendelssohn’s Concerto in G minor. Accompanying the orchestra will be young pianist Jan Čmejla, winner of the 2019 Concertino Praga radio competition.

Ticket prices: 390 Kč | 290 Kč

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.