Solo for Viola and Piano

6. prosinec 2021

St Agnes Convent6 December 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Benjamin Britten: Prelude and Fugue for 18-part String Orchestra
Zbyněk Matějů: Virus, concerto for viola and chamber orchestra, world premiere of composition commissioned by PRSO
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 27
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25

Chuhei Iwasaki – conductor
Jitka Hosprová – viola
Jan Čmejla – piano

The second concert at the St Agnes Convent will commence with eighteen string instrument players, who will perform Britten's energetic Prelude and Fugue. Leading Czech viola player Jitka Hosprová will follow this up with the world premiere of the concerto Virus by Zbyněk Matějů. This middle-aged Czech composer, known primarily as an author of ballet music, began to write it at PRSO's commission spontaneously, inspired by the artistry of Jitka Hosprová and the sequence of events around the first wave of the coronavirus pandemic. The orchestra will then be expanded and play Mendelssohn's overture Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, inspired by the verses of Johann Wolfgang Goethe. The programme will conclude with the Concerto in G minor by the same author, in which the orchestra will be accompanied by the winner of the radio competition Concertino Praga from 2019, the exceptionally talented young pianist Jan Čmejla.

Ticket prices: 390 CZK | 290 CZK

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio