World Premiere – Written for PRSO

11. duben 2022

Rudolfinum, 11 April 2022 at 7:30 p.m.

Claude Debussy: Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
Ondřej Štochl: Three Movements on Acceptance for Clarinet and Orchestra, world premier of new composition commissioned by PRSO
Erkki-Sven Tüür: Searching for Roots (Hommage à Sibelius)
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 1 in E minor, Op. 39

Olari Elts – conductor
Kari Kriikku – clarinet

Estonian conductor Olari Elts has worked with ensembles such as the French National Orchestra, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra and the Budapest Festival Orchestra. He likes to combine classical works with the music of contemporary authors at his concerts. His guest appearance in Prague will be no different. He has invited with him eminent Finnish clarinettist Kari Kriikku and together they will unveil the world premiere of a new work by Ondřej Štochl. The Czech composer, primarily an author of chamber works characterised by vivid instrumentation and meditative passages, has composed a piece for clarinet and orchestra at the direct commission of PRSO. The evening will open with one of the most famous works of French impressionism, Debussy's Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun. After the break, the evening will continue with music from the north. Following an orchestral miniature dedicated to Jean Sibelius by Elts's compatriot Erkki­Sven Tüür, the programme will culminate with Sibelius's Symphony No. 1.

Ticket prices: 900 CZK | 750 CZK | 600 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

Pre-concert talk
Rudolfinum | Talich's Lounge | 1st floor | 6:30 – 7:15 p.m.

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio