Inaugural Concert of Alexander Liebreich

5. listopad 2018

Rudolfinum, 5 November 2018 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.



Carl Maria von Weber: Oberon, overture
Richard Strauss: Oboe Concerto
Modest P. Mussorgsky: Night on the Bare Mountain
Leoš Janáček: Taras Bulba

Alexander Liebreich conductor
Vilém Veverka oboe

The first concert with Alexander Liebreich in the position of principal conductor and artistic director of the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra presents a programme combining a German and Slavic repertoire. The evening opens with the overture from the last opera by Carl Maria von Weber, Oberon. We will also hear Richard Strauss's Oboe Concerto.

The German composer wrote this graceful and lyrical work with tragic undertones at the end of his life in Garmisch-Partenkirchen immediately following the close of the Second World War. The next part of the programme takes us east. Awaiting us are Mussorgsky's dramatic and effective Night on the Bare Mountain and Janáček's rhapsody Taras Bulba, inspired by Gogol's novella about the life of a Cossack Ataman and his two sons.

Ticket prices: CZK 550 / 450 / 400 / 350 / 220 / 100

Spustit audio