A Faust Symphony

9. květen 2022

Rudolfinum, 9 May 2022 at 7:30 p.m. Public dress rehearsal at 9:30 a.m.

Franz Liszt: A Faust Symphony

Marek Šedivý – conductor
Jaroslav Březina – tenor
Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno
Petr Fiala – choirmaster

Goethe’s drama in verse, The Faust, became a wellspring of inspiration for many musical composers. Franz Liszt, today known primarily as an author of piano compositions, wrote his Faust in the mid-1850s. The outcome was a full-length Faust Symphony in three characteristic sketches named after the three main characters of the play – Faust, Gretchen and Mephistopheles. The monumental work created for a large orchestra with an organ, male chorus and a tenor solo was chosen by the orchestra’s Principal Guest Conductor Marek Šedivý for his second subscriber concert. His rendition promises to be one of the highlights of the season.

Ticket prices: 900 CZK | 750 CZK | 600 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio