Gala Inaugural Concert

1. říjen 2021

Rudolfinum, 1 October 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Antonín Dvořák: Othello, Op. 93
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23
Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Alexander Liebreich – conductor
Gabriela Montero – piano

The Gala Inaugural Concert will see the first performance of the season's artist-in-residence, Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero. "Her playing has everything: crackling rhythmic brio, subtle shadings, steely power in climactic moments, soulful lyricism in the ruminative passages and, best of all, unsentimental expressivity," wrote the New York Times. Together, Montero and the radio symphony orchestra will perform one of the most popular works of classical music of all time, the melodic Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in B-flat minor by Russian romantic composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. The orchestra's Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Alexander Liebreich will start the evening off with Dvořák's overture Othello, inspired by Shakespeare's tragedy. The programme of Czech and Russian music will culminate with The Rite of Spring. The ballet's premiere in Paris in 1913 was accompanied by a legendary scandal that cemented its place in history. Whether it was caused by the bold choreography of Vaslav Nijinsky or Stravinsky's music, which for audiences of the time was shocking in its rhythmic and harmonic brazenness, The Rite of Spring, an iconic composition of the 20th century, still fascinates today.

Ticket prices: 1 800 CZK | 1 250 CZK | 800 CZK | 400 CZK | 250 CZK | 150 CZK

The organizer reserves the right to change the program and performers.

author: SOČR
Spustit audio